The view from Paris Mountain

2007 USA Cycling Professional Championships
Greenville South Carolina, Sat. Sept. 1 and Sun. Sept. 2nd

This page provides essential information for the USA Cycling Pro Championships which takes place this Sunday, September 2nd in Greenville, SC at 1:00 PM ET to crown the new National Champion. Only U.S. citizens belonging to ProTour, Pro Continental or Continental teams can participate. Last year, George Hincapie was the winner (race report and photos) in his hometown. Many riders were lapped on the finishing circuits of last year's challenging 194k course and only 31 riders finished the race so the course has been shortened by one less finishing circuit this year for a total distance of 110 miles or 177k.

Held in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania since its inaugural year, USA Cycling announced in November 2005 that the event will move to Greenville, South Carolina and serve for the next three years as host to the USPRO National Road Championships and the inaugural USPRO National Time Trial Championships. The race in Philadelphia is now known as the Philadelphia International Championship, and remains open to international riders. — Steve

Course Map and Detailed Start/Finish Maps and Road Closure Map

Race Preview
Tips for spectators, Greenville News articles and Where to watch ()
Rider start list and Past Champions

The 2007 Men's Elite Road Race Podium
L-R: Neil Shirley 3rd, Levi Leipheimer 1st, George Hincapie 2nd
photo courtesy of Frank Steele

Levi Leiphiemer is the 2007 US Pro Road Race Champion

"Leiphiemer has done it - after a daring solo breakaway up the final time over Paris Mountain and thirty kilometers on his own, Levi Leiphiemer is the 2007 US Pro Road Race Champion... He rolled across the finish with his fist in the air and a glorious grin on his face. A brilliant move and a deserving champion." ... Read the live reportCyclingnews
Road Race results
1 Levi Leipheimer (Discovery Channel Pro Cycling Team)
2 George Hincapie (Discovery Channel Pro Cycling Team)
3 Neil Shirley (Jittery Joe's)
4 Fred Rodriguez (Predictor Lotto)
5 Danny Pate (Team Slipstream powered by Chipotle)
Full ResultsCyclingnews
Full Road Race results from the official site
TourTracker Slide Show (both days)
Road Race Photos: Casey Gibson (Velonews) and Cyclingnews and Frank Steele
US Pro Road Race Highlights (10 minutes) — Versus

Dave Zabriskie retains his national TT jersey with a one second winning margin

Final TT Results:
1 Dave Zabriskie (Team CSC)                                                     39.34
2 Danny Pate (Team Slipstream powered by Chipotle)                               0.01
3 Timothy (Timmy) Duggan (Team Slipstream powered by Chipotle)                   0.11
4 Tom Zirbel (Priority Health presented by Bissell Pro Cycling Team)             0.15
5 Bobby Julich (Team CSC)                                                        0.49
6 Tyler Hamilton (Tinkoff Credit Systems)                                            
7 Mike Creed (Team Slipstream powered by Chipotle)                               0.56
8 Chris Baldwin (Toyota - United Pro Cycling Team)                               0.59
9 Mike Friedman (Team Slipstream powered by Chipotle)                            1.02
10 Ben Jacques-Maynes (Priority Health presented by Bissell Pro Cycling Team)    1.12
11 Michael Grabinger ( presented by Parkpre)                  1.28
12 Daniel Ramsay ( presented by Parkpre)                      1.42
13 Bernard Van Ulden (Navigators Insurance Cycling Team)                             
14 Thad Dulin (The Jittery Joe's - Zero Gravity Pro Cycling Team)                1.49
15 Curtis Gunn ( presented by Parkpre)                        2.05
16 Steven Cozza (Team Slipstream powered by Chipotle)                            2.07
17 Charles (Brad) Huff (Team Slipstream powered by Chipotle)                     2.08
18 Antonio Cruz                                                                  2.24
19 Phil Zajicek (Navigators Insurance Cycling Team)                              2.31
20 Bryce Mead (Jelly Belly Cycling Team)                                         3.39

Saul Raisin (Credit Agricole)                                                   4.33
Full TT Results and ReportCyclingnews
TT PhotosCasey Gibson